Register
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    DQ 1337 Member Rabbi106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Diego, California, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,109

    Default The sound on my computer isn't working

    Hey, the sound on my computer isn't working. It was working the first couple days, but now there's no sound. When I try to turn it all the way up, there's still no sound, and I'm sure I have a sound card, because as I said, it was working for the first few days. Could you help me? Thanks.
    John Hancock. that was a joke ladies and gentlemen

  2. #2
    DQ 1337 Member GolyBlood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,054

    Default

    I had this problem before, but I don't remember how I fixed it.

    Well. I'm going to find that way for you.

  3. #3
    Risen from the shadows Fullmetalshadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    417

    Default

    Try unplugging the speakers and plugging them back in, it worked for me...

  4. #4
    DQ 1337 Member codbarley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,164

    Default

    did you try rebooting? i had that problem and rebooting worked every time. if not i think i know how you can find out what is the problem. i have a hunch. if you have windows xp, go into start/all programs/accessories/entertainment/volume control/
    here:

    then it should look like this (i have my desktop set up differently but it should look similar)

    then click options, properties and see at the top if the sound card is displayed first in the pull down menu here:

    if it isnt, seletct it so that its displayed. if it is on top, i dont know what to tell you /shrug

  5. #5
    DQ 1337 Member Rabbi106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Diego, California, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    I don't have speakers, but I do have headphones, and those aren't the problem. And I have Vista, not XP. Thanks for the effort, tho, guys.
    John Hancock. that was a joke ladies and gentlemen

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    after 2 years of not haaving speakers,i finaly fixed it last week.
    here's what you do,go to the realtek official website and look up
    WDM R207
    WDM A406
    WDM R214


    idk which one worked for me but try 207 first,if none work browse that website.it WILL help you

  7. #7
    DQ 1337 Member codbarley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,164

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbi106 View Post
    I don't have speakers, but I do have headphones, and those aren't the problem. And I have Vista, not XP. Thanks for the effort, tho, guys.
    Then I can't help you. I only have experience with XP.

  8. #8
    DQ 1337 Member Rabbi106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Diego, California, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    Well, that didn't work Cotton. Thanks for trying, tho.
    John Hancock. that was a joke ladies and gentlemen

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    dang,search the web and youtube
    you will soon come to a solution

  10. #10
    DQ 1337 Member Zackie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,084

    Default

    Hmm...is it corrupted?
    [SIGPIC]http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p30/zA3-_/Sigs%20and%20avas/DQsig.png[/SIGPIC]

    http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p.../SigForums.png

  11. #11
    /jAʞE/ Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Thar.
    Posts
    2,777

    Default

    Same thing happened to my on my last comp. I couldn't fix it.

  12. #12
    DQ 1337 Member Rabbi106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Diego, California, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    Dammit. I'll just have the guys from Dell get over here and fix it.
    John Hancock. that was a joke ladies and gentlemen

  13. #13
    DQ 1337 Member GolyBlood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,054

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbi106 View Post
    Dammit. I'll just have the guys from Dell get over here and fix it.
    Fair enough.

  14. #14
    DQ 1337 Member kingmiami's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Orlando,Florida
    Posts
    1,590

    Default

    I don't know if anybody said this yet but it could be the sound card on your computer.

    http://soundcloud.com/mr-kdn
    "Cause our presence is a present, just to kick it is a blessing"

  15. #15
    New member Geeky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Right behind you...
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbi106 View Post
    Dammit. I'll just have the guys from Dell get over here and fix it.

    Bad idear there... I wouldn't trust Dell with a baby, let along my computer...

    model number, and soundcard brand model please... along with the components this computer has (processor, RAM, mobo, etc..)


    If your not sure you have a soundcard, do this... pop off the side of your computer case (this won't hurt it) and take a little peak into the innards...

    or you can look into the back of the case...

    do you plug your sound cable into this part of the computer...

    if you plus into the top part of the computer, you have integrated sound. This can stop for a variety of reasons, anything from a bunk chip to a corrupt driver...

    if you plug it into the lower part of the back panel (near where the 56k moden in this pic is) then you have a soundcard, a dedicated piece of silicon made just for processing sound algorithms. If its this, make sure your audio properties have your soundcard listed at the primary audio device.

    no matter which it is, there is little information to go off of here...

    give me more details and I'll see what I can do
    Last edited by Geeky; January 24th, 2009 at 06:57 PM.

  16. #16
    DQ 1337 Member BanHammor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Moscau
    Posts
    2,373

    Default

    Dammit, I miss my COM and parralel ports, as long as the 56K modem. Since USB 2.0 was created, nothing like them was on my computer
    You can create your own opportunities this week. Blackmail a senior executive.

  17. #17
    New member Geeky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Right behind you...
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BanHammor View Post
    Dammit, I miss my COM and parralel ports, as long as the 56K modem. Since USB 2.0 was created, nothing like them was on my computer
    I just used a basic reference photo, so I can find out if he does have a sound card or integrated...

    if its a dell, I'm guessing it has both an integrated video chipset (yuck) and integrated audio (even more nasty)

  18. #18
    Meow! DrunkCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    4,875

    Default

    Just fyi, having a sound card now a days is more of a tradition than a practicality. CPU and GPU clocks are now fast enough that sound processing (unless it's some crazy 12.3 sound system) only impacts less than 1% of performance.
    "To tell us that every species of thing is endowed with an occult specific quality by which it acts and produces manifest effects, is to tell us nothing; but to derive two or three general principles of motion from phenomena, and afterwards to tell us how the properties and actions of all corporeal things follow from those manifest principles, would be a very great step." -Issac Newton, Optics
    "You are what you do not do." - Relax.

  19. #19
    New member Geeky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Right behind you...
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DrunkCat View Post
    Just fyi, having a sound card now a days is more of a tradition than a practicality. CPU and GPU clocks are now fast enough that sound processing (unless it's some crazy 12.3 sound system) only impacts less than 1% of performance.
    True true, but I have a thing with REALTEC who is usually the onboard audio chips... and older chips (3 or more years) are known for issues

  20. #20
    DQ 1337 Member Rabbi106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Diego, California, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    I'm not that great with computers, but I know I have a good, nearly state-of-the-art, sound card, and as I said, during the first few days, the sound worked. Thanks for the help, tho.
    John Hancock. that was a joke ladies and gentlemen

  21. #21
    /jAʞE/ Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Thar.
    Posts
    2,777

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Geeky View Post
    Bad idear there... I wouldn't trust Dell with a baby, let along my computer...
    Sigquoted.

Similar Threads

  1. Reprecutions not working
    By Xiox in forum Report & Suggestions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 23rd, 2009, 06:15 PM
  2. TF2 not working
    By cokeman in forum Help and Requests
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: April 10th, 2009, 08:30 PM
  3. Flash Movies not working
    By Applejacks in forum News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 24th, 2007, 11:29 PM
  4. [sound] In-Computer Recording
    By Hwiazen in forum Help and Requests
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 1st, 1970, 01:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •