Register

Thread: The Whale Fins

Default The Whale Fins

Okay so, it's been a VERY long time since I'd put up anything here(it's been a very long time since I'd posted anything at all) but, anyway, I've been working on this for quite some time now and I guess it's probably time to show it.

(clicky for larger res when available)

What is this?
    The Whale Fins is a an OCverse about a bunch of animal-hybrid monsters having fun and whatnot. There isn't much of a plot there, however. All in all, aside from having fun drawing, this is just me seeing how far my current skills can take me.

I don't really have much digital art to show for now, but for the monsters, here are what's been done and one of the many sketches I've made.

(this character is NOT part of the silhouette shot above)

Help?
    1. Realism vs. Cartoon
    First of all, I'm not professionally trained as an artist and likely won't be. Even till now, I'm still learning from every single sketch as I draw. I'm kind of stumped on how to balance between having realistic/not-offmodel anatomy and cartoon anatomy, or how to draw with good anatomy at all. Help on cartoon anatomy would be much appreciated.

2. Art Software
    Currently, the digital art above is drawn with 100% vector using the software Inkscape. I do enjoy vector art very much especially when the tablet is not always available to me due to me still studying far away from home(read: an ocean apart). However, I don't see many people use Inkscape, I wonder if there's better software for vector art?

3. Comic
    WF is an OCverse without plot, yes. However, I do want to draw a few comics to explain the story background, or just to have a few skits, really. This will also be very helpful in case I change my mind and evolve WF into a webcomic. Are there any good tutorials on comic techniques?

Any comments, questions, suggestions or criticisms, welcomed and appreciated!

a distant citadel overlooking a monument at sea