PDA

View Full Version : Potential Spam/Virus Bot



Jaded
March 19th, 2009, 11:47 AM
I just got this private message don't know if anyone else did, from this guy "leRWGfQ"

the message subject was "Hello!"

and he gave me this link

http://sourceradix.com/m/2009038.html
link removed
(i removed one number so no one accidentally goes to it)

I dunno, just seems fishy to me, could be a dangerous page. Just thought admins might wana know.

Netrosis
March 19th, 2009, 02:04 PM
I got the PM too, user has been banned.

All private messages sent out by the user were also deleted, anyone who doesn't already know won't.

Thanks for confirming that it wasn't just me though :)

Flashlight
March 19th, 2009, 03:17 PM
What's up with all the bots in DQ? I don't really see them in other forums.

Klawg
March 19th, 2009, 03:36 PM
I'm hopin you guys are going to cook up something to stop the bots in V4. It's just about time to get a defense.

rainor
March 19th, 2009, 05:09 PM
how about a bot check http://i575.photobucket.com/albums/ss195/rainor/sol.jpg

Thunder
March 19th, 2009, 05:17 PM
It's just about time to get a defense.

LAST ONE ALIVE, LOCK THE DOOR!

But that's more or less true, DQ is plauged be Spambots.

Spambots are like rabbits. They multiply and you can't seem to get rid of them once they have.

Tac
March 19th, 2009, 06:50 PM
No offense, but what is a bot? Is it some kind of dumbass or something.

Jaded
March 20th, 2009, 12:10 AM
No offense, but what is a bot? Is it some kind of dumbass or something.

its a user that actually isn't a person. get it, "bot" as in "robot". It's goal is to either solicite a site, or send out spam, viruses, and other things of that sort.

Flashlight
March 20th, 2009, 09:06 AM
Spambots do not send out spam like this: hey lolololololololololololololo roflisious!

They do this: Buy uor really cheap Nike shoes 20 % off for only 2999$

Get it now?

Tac
March 20th, 2009, 06:47 PM
its a user that actually isn't a person. get it, "bot" as in "robot". It's goal is to either solicite a site, or send out spam, viruses, and other things of that sort.

Ah, yes. I was guessing that.

Hey, I've noticed in alot of screenshots for computers with DQ on them, the little webpage sign is replaced with a D. I don't get that on my system. Is it like and Internet Explorer 7 issue?

Jaded
March 20th, 2009, 07:25 PM
maybe. i have firefox and i have it.

Tobu
March 20th, 2009, 07:56 PM
Now, what do i see in that image? "Hack steam" "Free steam games" not a good example to show xD

You could cut that out. Anyway, yeah i was thinking of that image-code thing too. Coulc avoic a lot of spammers/bots.

Thunder
March 20th, 2009, 11:33 PM
Hey, I've noticed in alot of screenshots for computers with DQ on them, the little webpage sign is replaced with a D. I don't get that on my system. Is it like and Internet Explorer 7 issue?

It only happens with Firefox, because Firefox is


Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger

than IE.

Flashlight
March 21st, 2009, 12:45 AM
It only happens with Firefox, because Firefox is



than IE.

Straight up!

BanHammor
March 21st, 2009, 08:01 AM
It only happens with Firefox, because Firefox is



than IE.

Should I place a screeny with Opera/Chrome here?

Kreekakon
March 21st, 2009, 10:13 AM
Spambots are like rabbits. They multiply and you can't seem to get rid of them once they have.
True but what you should do is keep them isolated from yourself by "fencing them in".

Tac
March 21st, 2009, 10:46 AM
True but what you should do is keep them isolated from yourself by "fencing them in".

IF only that could happen.